Humble Submission

 “How will this be,” Mary asked the angel, “since I am a virgin?”

The angel answered, “The Holy Spirit will come on you, and the power of the Most High will overshadow you. So the Holy one to be born will be called the Son of God.

Even Elizabeth your relative is going to have a child in her old age, and she who was said to be unable to conceive is in her sixth month. For no word from God will ever fail.”

“I am the Lord’s servant,” Mary answered. “May your word to me be fulfilled.” Then the angel left her.

Luke 1: 34-38
LISTEN TO TODAY’S MESSAGE

Mary has been told of God’s plan to use her to bring salvation to the world, and as any of us might do, she questions the viability of the plan.

“How can this be….it doesn’t make sense.?

Such a familiar question, isn’t it. How many times have we been nudge by God in ways that just don’t make sense to our limited and worldly minds. 

The answer given to Mary’s question is that ‘nothing is impossible with God’. 

Perhaps Mary was familiar with this Proverb…

Trust in the Lord with all your heart

and lean not on your own understanding. 

In all your ways, acknowledge Him and

He will direct your path.

Proverbs 3:5-6

Whether she was or was not familiar with it, Mary’s response to the answer she was given reflected this kind of faith.  Instead of continuing with  more questions, doubting the practicality of this plan, she says:

“I am the Lord’s servant. May your word to me be fulfilled.”

Mary teaches us so much in this simple response to this impossible plan.  It really boils down to her submissive acknowledgement that she is God’s servant. 

In her time, Mary would be very familiar with the term ‘servant’.  It was part of that culture to have servants in homes.  She knew the word servant meant:

  • One who respects all of the wishes of her master
  • Does the work requested of the master without question
  • Works in all things to please the master, not herself

Mary’s response is a perfect example of a servant recognizing her true Master. As servant’s of God, we can look at Mary’s example and consider how we too might reflect that servant-like response in our daily life.

MARY’S EXAMPLE OF GLORIFYING GOD WITH A SERVANT RESPONSE

Mary had plans for marriage and a normal family life.  She let go of those plans to be replaced with God’s plan. 

Mary submitted to a plan that brought her shame as friends and family began to gossip about the circumstances of her pregnancy.  

Mary submitted to a plan that put her in a ‘barn’ giving birth in pauper like conditions.  

TO THINK ABOUT AND ASK FOR GOD TO SHOW US WHAT WE NEED TO SEE

What plans might I be holding on to that are not aligned with where God is calling me or asking me to do for His glory?

How often do I turn a deaf ear to what God is asking of me because a need to please people or live up to cultural standards?

Is there something God is asking me to do that I’m avoiding because it might be uncomfortable? 

For His Glory

Mary’s servant like submission to the will of God resulted in a world changing event.  

Whether God is calling us to serve in a world changing way or a life changing way, the question is – are we ready to respond with a servant like attitude? 

Prayer Starter:

Heavenly Father, my Lord, my Master. I kneel before you as Your humble servant. Reveal to me Your will.

My heart longs to please You Lord. Reveal to me the things I am holding on to that keep me from being able to fully surrender to Your will, for Your glory. Give me an ear to hear Your calling, Your leading words.

Thank You for the gift of prayer and fellowship through the saving grace of Jesus Christ, that I may draw near and hear You.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.